Mark-Making w/ Tucks and a Book

10 07 2009

I’ve finished my double-layer skirt/shrug.  (It really is time for a photoshoot.) It is gathered, almost in cartridge pleats, by matched side-by-side tucks, and I’m going to add some decorative crochet on the edges of one of the layers. On me, it is definitely a shrug, rather than a skirt, and I think the idea will work better on a one-layer skirt, but first I’m doing another project.

It’s my first machine-knit “art fabric”.

My knitting machine is a bulky, and meant to use thicker yarns than a non-bulky knitting machine. My play with organized tucks using several threads at once has produced the Gutsy Gatsby scarf (mentioned in another post, but not yet photographed) and the cartridge-pleated double layer shrug/skirt, both of which producing decorative elements that could be easily used for cushions.

So now that I’ve got a good handle on tucks, I’m using a single thin yarn to make a very light and airy translucent fabric, so translucent that tucks can be used to “draw”, to “make marks” that will be visible from either side of the fabric. Afterwards, I plan to drape the fabric on a dressform, layering, and gathering, and tucking, and pleating a unique garment in which the tuck “marks” are a feature.

I’also gotten my hands on a marvelous book. Some time ago, I saw the book in a bookstore, thought it was a new book, and decided to ask to review it for a website with the idea that I’d get it for free. But it wasn’t a new book, and it was gone the next time I went to the store. I looked it up on the web, but I wanted to look through it again before I bought it.

Now I have, and oh, the ideas it has inspired. What can be done with plain muslim is amazing.

Alright, I’ll tell you. The book is “The Art of Manipulating Fabric” by Colette Wolff. And I can’t wait to start using the techniques to make fabulous things. I’m going to have to add a page. I just know it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

