What Will It Look Like

26 11 2009

I’ve been imagining what I want people to see when they come into Pocktorian Textiles, now that I can include some furnishings in that imagining. Before I could include furnishings in my imaginings, I was imagining a single dress rack, a hat rack for the wall, a mirror, and a tiny picnic table with clotheslines strung all about otherwise.

I already know that we’ll have an A-frame chalkboard announcing our existence and whatever events are going on outside the Looses entrance. That will direct them to the stairs in the back, where there will be a poster urging people onward. And then we have to get them inside the first of the two rooms, the sales room, probably with another A-frame.

Inside, on the wall, will be posted what we’re looking for. That will be resident designer / makers if we still have room for some, and if we don’t there will be a waiting list designer / makers can get onto. Also we’ll be posting items that we want to offer: hats, if we don’t have any hats; bags, if we don’t have any bags; pillows, if we don’t have any pillows, as well as things like handspun yarn, if we don’t have any of that, or hand-dyed yarn, if we don’t have any. And also what we want to have but don’t have for the studio, whether we can afford it yet or not, like a spinning wheel, for example. Maybe someone will loan it to us. Or, dare we hope, donate it?

Also on the walls will be the latest sketches from our designers, what they expect to be making in the next week. That will be next to a special area containing all the new stuff made in the incubator or received from designer /makers outside the incubator in the last week.

I got a camera for Christmas already, and I know just what I will use it for. Look out, Norwich, there’s going to be a part of the wall where we’ll be posting pictures I’ve taken of Norwich street style, and you can bet that anyone who buys something in the shop and puts it on will get the chance to have their picture added to the wall.

I got a great phone call today from an excellent Norwich designer who will be having some of her work in the sales room. I think I want to wait to tell people who it is, though, because I want to get some picture files from her and do a whole post about her. There, you have a hint. It’s a she. (Big fat hint, huh?)

More and more and more later.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

