I GOT THE GRANT!

26 01 2010

A part of me wants to repeat the title of this post over and over again for about 10 pages or so, and then about 10 more pages of THANK YOU,  UNLTD!  But I’ve got too much else to do.

I got almost the whole amount I asked for, which means that Pocktorian can be immediately entirely equipped on what I call the second level. For example, first level includes a drop spindle. Second level includes a spinning wheel. (Third level includes an electric spinner or even setting up a service for spinning the yarn of local farmers into marketable yarn.

It also means I can do a bit of advertising every month and set up a selling website for the resident designers and for the shop area.

Some of the things I put on the initial list, I already have, or I already have a source for at a price less than I had initially estimated. (How could I have anticipated someone coming in and offering me a Finnish spinning wheel with accessories?) But that just makes room  sewing machine with more embroidery potential? (I may not be partial to machine embroidery but maybe one of the other designers will be.) Or the addition of a basic industrial sewing machine? (Thinking of you, prospective yurt maker.) Or perhaps an 8-harness floor loom instead of a 4 harness table loom? (But the floor loom I know I could get for the funds allowed would not be as portable for taking around to schools.)

Oh! The possibilities!

Those possibilities make me want to make a few more solid efforts to make absolutely sure that I absolutely must go home. So that’s what I’ll be doing over the next day or so.

I talked over all the possibilities with my sister tonight, and she wondered whether I might possibly be able to manage Pocktorian Textiles virtually. It’s entriguing, because it would entail learning to use technology that it would an excellent idea for my designers to have knowledge of.

Hmmmmmmmmm.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

