Pocktorian Textiles, cont.

19 02 2010

I am SO delighted! I have heard today that UnLtd accepts Anne LaVene (of St. Lawrence Textile Centre in the St. Lawrence church on St. Benedict St. in Norwich) as an appropriate person to accept the grant and continue Pocktorian’s work.

To give you a hint of who she is, check out these sites:

http://www.wintercorn.com/blog/38-houseoflavene

http://www.houseoflavene.co.uk/

http://www.weetu.org/news_view.php?news_id=26

http://sk-sk.facebook.com/group.php?gid=59122441305

I don’t know how much she knows about the other textile skills, but when it comes to the knitting machine, she knows everything! Her designs are very original.

She’s had St. Lawrence open for over a year and is very strong in making connections, but St. Lawrence doesn’t have heat or water or good light in general, however picturesque it is, which Pocktorian Textiles will offer her, along with all the great opportunities that come in a constant stream from UnLtd.

As for me, I will feel a whole lot better about leaving the UK being able to say that I created and left behind what I consider a significant contribution to the UK. It will also make my case stronger for working in the same area in the US.

Actions

Information

7 responses

26 02 2010
hark yeung

I am a writer from HK and I have visited the workshop and I hope I can communicate with Donna through e-mail. I am now in Hong Kong

26 02 2010
djcnor

I’m glad to hear that the book on Norwich textiles, past and present (and future?), will be happening. I can’t wait to have a title and a publication date so I can do a grand post on the subject.

26 02 2010
hark yeung

Please update us with your stay in UK. Can you do something to continue your work in Norwich?

26 02 2010
djcnor

Well, I can’t do anything about staying in the UK, but I have done something about seeing that Pocktorian continues, and I can and will do something about taking the Pocktorian idea with me to the US and putting it to work again. Nice to hear from you.

27 02 2010
hark yeung

what is the grant u talked about? if it is made to u, why you cannot stay in the Uk and use it ?

5 03 2010
Maude C

Hello- I’m in Charlottesville and my partner is from Norwich- she moved here in 2003. Welcome back to Charlottesville!

6 03 2010
djcnor

Hi, Maude!
It always amazes me the connections made in this world. About ten years after I left Charlottesville, I spent two years in Krakow, Poland. Soon after I got there, I was sitting in a restaurant when a stranger came up to me, asked my name and asked if I was from Charlottesville, and when I said yes I was, told me his wife was someone I’d known in Charlottesville. “She’s right over there,” he said, pointing. I looked and realized I’d seen her on the street and thought, “Gee, that woman looks a lot like Fran.” Two years later, I moved back to NYC and was working at a bookstore in the bottom of one of the World Trade Towers, when a woman came up to me and asked if I used to live in Krakow, Poland. I hadn’t even known her there, but she remembered seeing me on the street.
I hope your partner likes Charlottesville. The town’s are about the same size, but I already know I still like Charlottesville better. Guess I never really “bonded” that strongly with Norwich, though I tried.

Leave a Reply

