Where I’ve Been and What I’ve Been Up To

16 08 2010

I admit it. It has been a long time since I posted on this blog. Honestly, I looked at the stats and couldn’t believe I actually still had some visitors from time to time. I haven’t been updating things like Linked-In and this blog. I am one person with limited time, and when I write, I don’t write short, and there has been so much else that needed doing.

What have I done? I’ve found a way to make a living for the meanwhile. I didn’t look back to see if I had actually posted that I found an appropriate job right away that covers the bills if not much more? It’s at Cottonwood, a quilt shop, in case I haven’t, and I’ve been working there three days a week for nearly half a year now.

I got US cards made and am carrying them around and giving them out when I get the chance, except for sometimes when I forget and then kick myself. I like my cards. They’re from Vistaprint and I call myself Pocktorian Textiles, Tutoring, and Text because I’d like all three to become income streams.

I’ve hooked up with a very old friend who lives in Seattle. She mentioned she wanted to write a novel, and I’ve had one in my head since when I last lived in Charlottesville, so I made an agreement with her to write some on our novels each week and exchange. After three weeks I’m finding it works for me. Every week, I’ve added to the book-to-be.

I’ve dug out Mom’s sewing machine, though I haven’t plugged it in yet. I’m scared that after 5 years idle in the UK, it will need servicing, and I don’t have the extra money to do it, so I don’t want to know if that’s true. That makes no sense, but that’s what’s going on in my mind.

I’ve initiated something. I was disappointed to find out that Charlottesville’s First Friday is more about schmoozing and food than art, so I decided to get together with a friend and DO ART on Second Fridays. I can’t say it’s been a huge hit, but there’s been some interest and I’ve sure had fun hanging out with Andrea and I know new stuff after every one, so I’ll keep doing it.

I’m preparing to apply to Virginia Center for the Arts and for a studio at McGuffey.

I’ve made several beaded bracelets and a necklace.

I’ve painted a scarf in watercolor style.

I’ve done a decent watercolor botanical and decided that botanicals are really what I’m interested in doing in watercolors.

I’ve set up my knitting machine, though I haven’t yet done anything with it.

I’ve designed two art quilts, and used the same technique to design a scarf.

And I’ve acquired a few bits of furnishings for the house, specifically a funky computer desk to put the sewing machine on, and a bookcase. There’s another small bookcase, too, flatpack, that I need to acquire a drill to put together, dang it.

The loom is not yet unpacked. I really miss it, but there’s no room.¬†There are still a bunch of boxes in the kitchen, in the living room, and in the bedroom, where the boxes hold our clothes for lack of anything like a dresser. Still no platform for the futon that serves as our bed either. A platform would really help for my husband who has problems with an arthritic hip, but that will come, someday.

I’ve hooked up with a vintage shop to research and compose some Ebay descriptions. Don’t really know where that’s going at the moment, but I’ve learned a lot.

I always feel like I should be much further along by now, but when I list all I have accomplished, I don’t feel so bad.

What motivated me to post now was something I heard myself say in the shop the other day. “My aim is accumulate experience, not money, and I’m succeeding.” True. But why do I feel I have to make that choice? True, and isn’t it great that I can call that success!¬† True. But then again, there’s a ruefulness, a joke on myself, in saying it. It’s a statement with depth, one that asked for further thought and exposition on. Perhaps I’ll write a whole post on it down the line.

Actions

Information

One response

16 08 2010
hark yeung

nice to see you working, my book is at the stage of rewritting but I’ll stop soon as I want to put in on the christmas market, do u have time to do the proof reading ?

Leave a Reply

